4. Wheel-Chair Inaccessible – Alex J. Hancock

For my exploration, I decided to navigate Miami’s campus as if I were confined to a wheel chair. For a period of 12 hours I took a photo on my phone of everything I encountered on my normal walking routes I would not be able to navigate easily if I were confined to a wheel chair. If there was a door I opened but there was also a handicap accessible button or a set of stairs I ascended but there was also a ramp I did not take a photo. These 16 photos represent situations in which I would have had no easy means of procession and would have had to drastically restructure my path to get where I was trying to go.

It made me realize how many places common in my daily path such as class buildings, my office and apartment are not easily accessible to those who are disabled.

Alex J. Hancock

Leave a Reply

