Exploration #4 Adam Holt

For this exploration I decided to play the video game Tecmo Superbowl on the Sega Genesis blindfolded. For those unfamiliar with this, it is an arcade-style football game from 1993 that is still funner to play than the latest Madden games. I have been playing this game since I was a kid, so I knew how to select plays and move around without seeing the screen. However, it turned out to be a bit more challenging than I anticipated. Running the ball was practically impossible as is reflected in the statistics (19 carries for -8 yards), but passing was somewhat effective. I didn’t bother switching between receivers much because I couldn’t see if they were open anyway, but I sort of developed a feel for when to pass the ball. While I completed less than half of my passes, I did manage to score 1 touchdown, so that was exciting. Anyway, I took a picture of the TV screen after the game was over to show off my lowly statistics. I lost 35 to 7. Come on, it’s tough to play defense blind.

Leave a Reply

