Jessica Jeon/ Mediated Body Exploration

It all started with a simple little bug bite. I started to wonder why my legs began to swell up like they did so I went to a dermatologist to see what I needed to take in order to make the itching go away. I took the medication and it got worse. After several doctors, flying back to Los Angeles, two biopsies, and missing 8 weeks of school, I finally gave up. My entire body had been engulfed in scars, bumps, bubbles, and bites. The doctors had no idea what was wrong with me and what they could do to cure me. I needed to take a step back in order to reassess the important things in my life and what I needed to do in order to get the body I had once, back.

The forms that I had taken a photo of for my exploration project illustrate the multiple body analyses from the numerous doctors that I had seen during that time period. Their opinions, their judgments, their notes have all been scribbled in those papers in the given photo. However, what I wanted to do with my body was ultimately, up to me. I eventually ended up discontinuing my dosage of steroids, antibiotics, and topical creams and I ended up “waiting out” this brutal process. Since I am still alive right now, I guess my method worked. Doctors are still not sure what had happened to my body but they labeled it as a curious allergic reaction to an antibiotic. The photo illustrates the physical descriptions of my body but this paper re-frames my experience. It tells the story behind the simple descriptions of what had happened and the process of how it happened rather than the brief physical synopsis. Even with the thorough notes, there is definitely more that meets the eye.

Leave a Reply

